A read-only user can view records without changing or deleting them.
On this page:
The read-only license
Designed for safe data sharing with people who need visibility but not edit access. It is a seat type for Enterprise-tier accounts only.
Read-only users can:
- Receive notifications on records they’re following
- Leave comments or @mention team members for collaboration
- View dashboards
- Run saved reports
- Create and save list views
Read-only users cannot:
- Update permissions
- Be an administrator
- Create, edit, or delete records
- Be assigned a lead, task, project, or opportunity
- Import or export data
- Create or modify dashboards or reports
Creating a read-only user
Under Advanced Permissions, read-only access is granted through a profile that permits reading but not creating, editing, or deleting. Read-only users can only be created when using Advanced Permissions.
- Confirm your account is set to Advanced Permissions on the System Settings > Permissions page.
- Set up a profile called Read-Only from the Permissions > Profiles page. You can do this by cloning the Standard User profile and unchecking all the boxes except for those in the Read column. You can further limit the records the user can see by unchecking the Read box next to each record type.
- Add the user to Insightly.
- Click the user’s name to view their details.
- Click the Edit User button.
- Select the Read-Only profile you created in step 2.
- Click Save User Details.